Distorted Image

I thought I would put another of my original pieces up seeing as I haven’t done this for a long time!  I did this one in a drawing class while I was studying.  We had to find a photograph of a person we admire and then create a random grid that would distort the image.  The concept was that we couldn’t tell how the image would turn out until we had finished drawing it.  So, despite it being an exercise about ‘letting go’, the Virgo in me couldn’t help but somewhat try to plan the grid in my head to make an image I could visualise and thought would be aesthetically pleasing.  As I’m no mathematician, the final result didn’t turn out exactly as I had planned. But, I really like how it worked out.  To me, the image I created has such a likeness to a witch.  And, despite this not being what I had intended, I quite like it.

Here is the image.  It was made using black pigment liners of varying point sizes.

If you like this drawing, it is available for sale on Society6.  I especially like it as a tote which you can see below.

And for those of you that are curious, the original image was of one of my favourite ladies, Louise Brooks.  Points if you had guessed that!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Distorted Image”

  1. prewitt1970 says :

    Very nicely done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

