Under the Sea

I felt like sharing quite a few images today, so here is an aquatic themed selection to quench your thirst. They are quite different but all connect through their reference to the ocean. I love how many ways a person can portray water – with extreme realism or with an abstract suggestion. I love this first piece by Kelly McKernan, who has quite a few water themed pieces you should check out on her website. Water and women seem to go together quite nicely. Perhaps it is the mermaid or siren idea that allows an easy way to connect the two, or simply the notion that water is feminine. Either way, I find that the combination can create a mysterious yet almost sinister essence. Do you agree?

139017_8_600

Pisces blog?20-09_floating_by_evniki

Kasia_Struss-Dylan-Forsberg-01

pearls for kisses

271008

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Under the Sea”

  1. klastinger says :

    I am in love with the first watercolor. What a strong image but it also has a vulnerability. You are right the combination is almost haunting. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Kelly McKernan says :

    Hi! I would appreciate it if you would credit me for my watercolor painting – the first one in this post. ๐Ÿ™‚ http://whatiscredit.tumblr.com/post/39057955023/why-crediting-is-important

    Like

    • thevisualfemale says :

      Hi Kelly,

      All done! Sorry about this. I’ve added a link to your website also. Your work is amazing – hope all is going well ๐Ÿ™‚

      Anna

      Like

    • magenta says :

      I will credit your watercolour Kelly, it is very sensual and a beautiful artwork. Have you got a website I’d like to see more of your work. You’re very talented ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

