Copy Klimt

Like most cool people in the world, I am in love with Gustav Klimt. He has been my art hero since I was a teenager. I always have to scatter a few images of his art throughout my home and he has remained with me from flat to flat over my student years. The beauty in his work is truly incredible and actually quite hard to recreate (trust me, I’ve tried!). Many people, including myself, have attempted to do our own Klimt style piece – some staying true to Klimt by direct mimicking and others by using his style as inspiration only. Below I will share a range of homages to Klimt I have discovered so far. They are all great, but nothing can really beat an original Klimt in my opinion!

Oh, but first I better show you an original Klimt incase you have failed to discover him in your life so far!

Gustav Klimt - The Kiss

Gustav Klimt – The Kiss (detail)

And now for the copy-Klimts

Gustav-Klimt-inspired-art-The-Kiss-reinterpretation-6

gustav_klimt_the_kiss_syria

gustav-klimt-inspired-art-the-kiss-reinterpretation-5-594x834

Gustav_Klimt_6607458

milo manara paying homage to Klimt

gustav-klimt-inspired-art-the-kiss-reinterpretation-4

hasanb_gustav_klimt_tribute

klimtgoogle

And, just for fun I thought I would show you my attempt. I did this for a friend a few years ago. Originally it was done in oranges and golds to be more in line with Klimt, but I found it wasn’t working, so in frustration I kind of scribbled over it with blue which changed the whole essence. I decided I liked it so went with a more icy version of Klimt. I quite like the result as it is Klimt inspired without being as obvious as it could be. I have my orange version in a folder somewhere (!) so maybe I will dig that up at some point for comparison. It’s funny how I had done a whole other painting, which remains hidden under this one. Thank goodness for photography so I could capture the underpainting also. I hope you enjoyed these x

summer painting yellow

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Copy Klimt”

  1. Da says :

    Hi! I love Klimt too and I wanted to know if you know the name of the artists who created these pictures ? The paintings that directly copy some of his, like The Kiss, the collage one and the graff, do you know where it is, who made it maybe ?
    Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

