Diego Fernandez – Beautiful Digital Illustration

diegeo.fernandez.painting Diego-Fernandez-Illustrations-10Diego-Fernandez_5_600_800

Diego Fernandez is an Argentinian digital illustrator whose work focuses on beautiful women. I love his style. For me, there is something quite nice about the result, which I believe is directly linked to the process. That is, due to the process of digital illustration, the end result has a certain pullback, an over-perfection that gives it a distinct energy. A lot of work these days is certainly edited in Photoshop or Illustrator, but from what I can see, Fernandez does almost all, if not entirely all, his work on the computer. Other artists are more likely to hand-draw the majority and do minor digital edits towards the end, but Fernandez approaches illustration in the opposite way. This is why his work is very polished. I really like it (although I know I wouldn’t have the patience to design this way) and something about the energy of the work lingers with me. I assume it is the nature of the method. While they are certainly executed well, and have exquisite beauty, it is almost as if something is lacking. The rawness? The organic, spontaneity of hand-drawn work? Yet in this lacking, I find the pieces acquire a kind of ghostly energy. It is as if the women are ‘shells’, lacking the depth of emotion inside them – as if we know they are digitally done, removed from human energy. This is not a bad thing, because I find haunting art truly mystifying and wonderful. Fernandez often uses cold tones (blues and greys) which further enhances the ghostly nature of his work. I have no idea if this is deliberate, but I rather like it and find that his work is quite unique within contemporary illustration.

162-diego-fernandez

When looking at the pieces I am displaying today, I found that a certain familiarity surrounded them. Sure, I had seen them before, but it was more than that. I don’t know if I can quite put my finger on it, but I have decided it must be a likeness to Raphael, and Di Vinci. They have that feel of art from around that time. Perhaps it is the focus of perfection and technique rather than emotion of character? I’m not quite sure, but the third piece especially reminds me of something. If you can contribute to this ungraspable thought of mine, please do! I would love to hear if you agree with what I concluded, or whether there is another artist that Fernandez has a similarity to.

You may also like…

alice - elena mir felinezegers...

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Diego Fernandez – Beautiful Digital Illustration”

  1. Through the Looking Glass says :

    This is so adept: “I find the pieces acquire a kind of ghostly energy. It is as if the women are ‘shells’, lacking the depth of emotion inside them – as if we know they are digitally done, removed from human energy.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

