Alice in Aotearoa

Sorry I haven’t been posting for a while – the internet hasn’t been quite up to speed, so I figured I would save the frustration and wait ’til it was better (which is today!) Having slow internet can be annoying, but also rather helpful in terms of getting stuff-you-need-to-do-but-are-too-lazy-to-do done. Without that temptation of the web, one can get back to those things we used to do. In my instance, I started reading my book again (what joy), and worked on a design to submit to The Kiwi Diary 2014. I hadn’t really heard of The Kiwi Diary before, but saw it on The Big Idea – my favourite website for finding creative opportunities in New Zealand. I must have saved the info before the internet went dawdling, so I could read all the info offline and begin to work on a piece to enter. The Kiwi Diary takes all sorts of stuff that represents or relates to New Zealand and then curates a selection to go in the final diary – it can be poems, illustrations, recipes, tips and tricks and so on. Unsurprisingly, I sought about making an illustration. The result is what I called Alice in Aotearoa, which you can see below.

Alice in Aotearoa - Anna McKay

I ended up working in Illustrator and digitally adding to a scanned pen drawing I had done recently. To me, the piece always had a sort of Alice in Wonderland essence. I have another version where I made the traditional Alice connection more apparent, and you may get to see that one day (just not today). But I decided that it would be fun to see if I could connect the piece with New Zealand (which is called Aotearoa in Maori). I added some native insects and a touch of  Maori symbolism and, to my delight, created what I strongly see as Alice in Aotearoa. I have sent it away to be judged and hopefully it will have a special place in The Kiwi Diary 2014. If not, I am happy to have made it.

You may also like…

witch JAW Cooper angelfish2-02

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Alice in Aotearoa”

  1. Matt says :

    Thought Alice looked stunning and she deserves to be in next year’s diary! Awesome work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

