Frida

Frida Kahlo was a Mexican painter and rather interesting woman. Through her life she suffered greatly as the result from a vehicle accident, where the bus she was on collided with a trolley car. Frida was 18. One result of this was an iron handrail piercing her abdomen and uterus, which meant reproductive trouble. While she conceived three times, she couldn’t carry to term, and had to terminate her pregnancies. She was born on July 6, which makes her the most maternal sign of the zodiac, Cancer. But her accident turned her towards art and painting. She commonly painted self-portraits, as a way to deal with her trauma, but also because she knew herself so well. She has stated “I paint myself because I am so often alone and because I am the subject I know best.”

Her work is quite captivating, and honest and raw. Her work often had a lot of nature in it, which makes sense to me with Frida being a Cancer whom often love animals. It would make sense that she could be drawn to animals and nature as a way to express her emotions. I like these three pieces by her.

frida-kahlo-self-portrait-with-thorn-necklace-and-hummingbird-pg-reproductionsfrida-kahlo-venadito1946Frida-Kahlo-The-Broken-Column

I recently remembered Frida because I noticed that a few artists I follow were doing their own portraits of her. So, I want to share these also. Cate Rangel’s piece connects more to the pain and life of Frida, whereas Liz Clements is very obviously Liz Clements style (which is a great style, but speaks less about Frida as a person). They both have hummingbirds in them, which is interesting.

Cate Rangel - Frida

Cate Rangel – Frida

Liz Clements - Frida

Liz Clements – Frida

A wonderful woman worth sharing.

You may also like…

25_playing-with-fire1 I Need You So Much Closer JAW Cooper

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Flores a lo Frida en Buenos Aires. | Canela Vintage - October 24, 2013

Leave a Reply

