New

womancoloured

This is one of my recent pieces I have been playing around with. It’s a pen drawing that I scanned and edited in Photoshop, adding the coloured aspects. Although it is quite simple, I quite like it. I am a bit like a Gemini when it comes to art. I am constantly changing, and struggle to commit to anything long-term. I suppose it’s because I haven’t settled on a particular style yet. I love digital, drawing, mixed media and painting (which I am aiming to get back into soon). Like this blog, the main subject that connects my work would be the female subject matter. Although I have a few pieces that don’t have women in them. In such a subjective industry it can be hard to predict what people will like, which is why I just have to trust my gut and own aesthetic and hope that others will relate to or enjoy some of my work.

I love sharing work by other artists because I know how valued you feel when people acknowledge and recognise your talent and hard work. And it is hard work. But of course it is worth it. I sincerely believe that all artists have a market out there – people who will buy and adore their work – but the most challenging part is connecting the art and the audience. With the internet it seems easy, but honestly how hard is it to find stuff on the internet? Unless you know specifically what you are looking for it can be pretty hard to discover anything new. That’s another reason why I started this blog, as a way to accumulate art and visuals for my followers. Online magazines and other blogs are great ways to keep discovering, as is Facebook. I found that since I created a Facebook page for The Visual Female I was discovering more and more artists through liking pages and what others were sharing on my News Feed.

I have finally taken the plunge and made a Facebook for my own personal art, and hope to build an audience over time. To see my work, visit my Facebook pageand please give it a like if it appeals. Obviously in this subjective world I am not expecting everyone to love it, I am just trying to see what people think.

Stay tuned for a cool new Visual Female of the Month coming up shortly! And thanks again to all the readers and fans of The Visual Female – you rock xx

You may also like…

Bette red - st jane annacollageattempt

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

