Illustrators (Kelly Thompson looks up to)

I read an interview with the delectable Kelly Thompson today featured on a new-found goody, Sly on the WallOne aspect of the interview (and interviews in general) I enjoyed was hearing what illustrators Kelly looks up to and finds inspiring. It always interests me to see if artists like other artists that are similar to them (hence they were probably inspired by them initially) or whether they love work that’s different to their own.

I guess with me I don’t emulate any artist that I really like. One reason would be that there are far too many I like (check how many amazing artists I have posted on this blog so far!) and another reason would be that I’m far to spontaneous to dedicate time to emulation. I can hardly do any repeat styles in my own work, so throwing in another artists style would be way too much. Unless you think I’ve been inspired by anyone? (Let me know). I’m sure we all are in some shape or form. But some artists really work to develop their own personal style, which is admirable. Others want to explore and develop others styles, always adding their own unique spin. This work is also pretty great.

But back to my point, Kelly listed a few illustrators she finds inspiring, so I checked them out and found a few pieces that I thought were pretty cool too. Surprisingly, I hadn’t heard of any of them! (But I did recognise the piece by Vania Zouravliov, which I’m sharing here). Had you? Do you see any similarities in Kelly’s work that could have resulted from these illustrators as a source of inspiration? I can in a couple.

eirianchapman

Eirian Chapman

MrQuiffyCraigKarl1a

Craig and Karl

vania_zouravliov_9

Vania Zouravliov

richardgrayIllustration-by-Richard-Gray-26

Richard Gray

Malika_Favre

Malika Favre

coles-phillips-life-the-call-of-the-wild-1927-1345753347_b

Coles Phillips

You may also like…

fashion-illustrations-by-kelly-thompson-5 kelly thompson egonvkelly

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

