Joseph Martinez – Miniatures

I found the work of Joseph Martinez and was blown away. I love how people can work in such small spaces to create breathtaking art. A while back I showcased, Elsa Isabella and her paper dolls (teeny, tiny pin ups in charcoal) and when I saw this work by Martinez I couldn’t help but compare the two. Not that I want to compare and contrast anything. Just I suppose they remind me of each other – wondrous small-scale beauty. I love the use of the matchbox. Clearly we can understand the scale of image by our knowledge of matchboxes, and there is something vintage and nostalgic about having the actual matches there. I reminder of our past, teamed up with contemporary women in art. The frailty of it all is quite outstanding.

Martinez-1 Martinez4 Martinez6

You may also like…

elsaisabella2 MartineJohanna_inia-1 SONY DSC

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

